An Interview with Melissa Wickland, playing Juliet in the 2014 Young Artists’ Program production of MILL GIRLS

Melissa Wickland1. Where are you from? 
Schaumburg, IL.
2. How did you hear about TMTC? What made you decide to audition? 
My voice teacher, Mary Legere, told me that she had students who had gone through the program and said it was a wonderful experience.
3. What should audiences take away from Mill Girls? What should they take away from your character specifically? 
Audiences will hopefully have a better understanding of what the girls went through during their time working at the mills. The one thing I
would like the audience to take away from Juliet is the responsibility and strength that she had in having to work after other hardships in her life.
4. In what ways are you similar to/different than your character? 
I feel I am similar to Juliet because I consider myself a friendly and welcoming person who cares about the people close to me.
5. How do you spend your days before rehearsal? 
Summer School…I am taking US History.
6. What’s your favorite memory of TMTC so far? 
My favorite memory so far is the process of creating the musical as we go. We have input on our characters since it is a new musical.
7. If you could have dinner with a famous historical figure, who would it be and why? 
I would like to have dinner with Eva Peron. She was a strong woman who had a hard life and the ambition to change it.

 

Leave a Reply

