An Interview with Grace Goble, playing Lucy in the 2014 Young Artists’ Program production of MILL GIRLS

Grace Goble1. Where are you from?
I’m from Park Ridge, IL.
2. How did you hear about TMTC? What made you decide to audition?
I was actually in Erika’s Wall at TMTC previous to this, and my sister Livvie participated in YAP in 2011 and 2012. I had a great experience here in Erika’s Wall, and Livvie had a great experience in YAP, so I decided to audition.
3. What should audiences take away from Mill Girls? What should they take away from your character specifically? 
Mill Girls has taught me not only about the history of the Lowell factories and these girls’ stories, but also the fact that there are going to
be things both positive and negative that will come out of your actions. My character, Lucy, can teach people that sometimes it’s difficult to
balance your priorities. Lucy has to decide between working through her illness to make money and then participating in the turn out, or trying to get healthy while not getting paid.
4. In what ways are you similar to/different from your character?
I believe Lucy is slightly more shy and quiet than me. I’m always the one to be talking loud or cracking jokes. One thing we share is not
wanting to be seen as “the young one” or “the little sister.” I’m my own separate person.
5. If you could have dinner with a famous historical figure, who would it be and why?
I would like to have dinner with Martin Luther King, Jr. I’d like to ask him his feelings on more current day controversial topics.
6. What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned from your time at TMTC?
One lesson I’ve learned this summer is how everything fits together. The cast needs to have a good feel for each other so that their
movements can be cohesive. Those movements also affect your singing and speaking. When you are in motion and working your body, you’re
forced to also work your whole voice.
–Grace Goble, A Factory Girl for the Lowell Offering

 

Leave a Reply

