An Interview with Becky Keeshin, playing Amanda in the 2014 Young Artists’ Program production of MILL GIRLS

Becky Keeshin1. Where are you from?
I am originally from Highland Park.
2. How did you hear about TMTC? What made you decide to audition?
TMTC has been a huge part of my growth as a performer, In 2009, I contributed to the workshop for happyfoods, the Young Artists Program show. Since then, I have performed in YAPbook ‘11, at the TMTC Gala in both 2011 and 2013, and I’ve trained with Founding Artistic Director Jessica Redish. After completing my freshman year of college, I wanted the chance to apply the new skills I’d learned in a professional and engaging environment.
3. What should audiences take away from Mill Girls? What should they take away from your character specifically?
Audiences should take away how important this story is to American history. The events and stories behind the Lowell mills are incredibly
fascinating, and made a huge impact on women in the working world, as well as women’s rights. The show provides great insight into what
young women went through to make their mark on the world. My character, Amanda, puts her best foot forward to make a better life for
her family and herself. I hope audiences take away from Amanda’s journey what the girls had to endure and what they did to make their
voices’ heard.
4. In what ways are you similar to/different than your character?
We’re both driven, and desire to work hard and always try our best. I am also a little sister to older brothers, just like Amanda!
5. How do you spend your days before rehearsal?
Before rehearsal, I spend my days as the head Musical Theatre counselor at the Improv Playhouse’s Summer Camp. I also work at a
boutique in Lincoln Park.
6. What’s your favorite memory of TMTC so far?
So far, my favorite memory has been learning the song, “What I Earned.” The song is fun and stylistically challenging, and everyone had
a lot of fun learning it.
7. If you could have dinner with a famous historical figure, who would it be and why?
Eleanor Roosevelt. She was fierce! It would be amazing to discuss the women’s movement and her feminist thoughts and ideas, especially on
the period Mill Girls takes place in.
8. What’s the biggest lesson you’ve learned from your time at TMTC?
The biggest lesson I’ve learned is that, there are so many ways to look at one thing. If I see a moment, line, or lyric with a certain intention,
Jess, Diana, or another cast member might see it in a completely different way. I’ve learned that it is incredibly important to be open and
willing to explore all the meanings and ideas within the piece because we all learn from one another.
Leave a Reply

